Thursday, 2 July 2015

Norwich City's first season in Division One - 1972-1973

In August 1972, Norwich City kicked off in Division One for the first time in its history. Here is an account of that season, with videos (where I have found them!) and some news stories of the time.

Squad at start of season - with League games and goals:
Manager - Ron Saunders
Goalkeepers - Kevin Keelan (42/0), Mervyn Cawston (0/0)
Defenders - Duncan Forbes (32/0), Alan Black (22/1), Stephen Govier (12/0), Paul Kent (0/0), David Stringer (38/4), Geoff Butler (35/0), Clive Payne (27/0)
Midfielders - Neil O'Donnell (9/0), Terry Anderson (34/4), Philip Hubbard (2/0)*, Graham Paddon (38/7), Doug Livermore (37/0), Maxwell Briggs (34/0), Stephen Goodwin (0/0), Trevor Howard (14/1)
Forwards - Ken Foggo (2/0)*, James Bone (26/5)*, Paul Cheesley (9/0), Glen Self (1/0), David Cross (37/11), Stephen Grapes (0/0), Peter Silvester (0/0)

*left club during season

Transferred in during the season:
James Blair (5/0), Andrew Rollings (0/0), Roger Hansbury (0/0), Colin Suggett (11/1), Trevor Hockey (13/0), Ian Mellor (11/1)


August 1972
Saturday 12 August 1972 – Norwich City 1 Everton 1 (Match of the Week)
Bone - Royle


Tuesday 15 August 1972 – Ipswich Town 1 Norwich City 2
Hamilton - Bone, Anderson

Saturday 19 August 1972 – Manchester City 3 Norwich City 0 (Granada Football)
Bell, Lee (2)




Wednesday 23 August – Norwich City 0 Southampton 0

Saturday 26 August 1972 – Norwich City 1 Derby County 0 (Match of the Day)
Paddon
(Goal only at start)



Wednesday 30 August 1972 –Norwich City 2 Stoke City 0
Stringer, Paddon

September 1972

Saturday 2 September 1972 – Leeds United 2 Norwich City 0
Charlton, Jordan

6 September 1972: Eleven Israeli athletes killed after being held hostage by terrorists during the Munich Olympics

Wednesday 6 September 1972 – Norwich City 2 Leicester City 1 (League Cup 2nd Round)



Saturday 9 September 1972 – Norwich City 1 Sheffield United 1
Goulding o.g.

Wednesday 13 September 1972 – Dundee 2 Norwich City 1 (Texaco Cup First Round First Leg)

Saturday 16 September 1973 – West Ham United 4 Norwich City 0
Taylor, Brooking, Robson (2)

17 September 1972: the first episode of MASH screens



Saturday 23 September 1972 – Norwich City 3 Arsenal 2
Cross, Anderson (2) - Storey, Radford

Wednesday 27 September 1972 – Norwich City 2 Dundee 0 (Agg: 3-2) (Texaco Cup First Round Second Leg)

Saturday 30 September 1972 – Crystal Palace 0 Norwich City 2
Bone, Paddon

October 1972

Tuesday 3 October 1972 – Hull City 1 Norwich City 2 (League Cup 3rd Round)

Saturday 7 October 1972 – Newcastle United 3 Norwich City 1
Guthrie, Tudor (2) - Cross

Saturday 14 October 1972 – Norwich City 2 Tottenham Hotspur 1
Cross (2) - Chivers

Saturday 21 October 1972 – Leicester 1 Norwich City 2
Weller - Cross, Paddon

Wednesday 24 October – Leicester City 2 Norwich City 0 (Texaco Cup Second Round First Leg)

Saturday 28 October 1972 – Norwich City 1 Liverpool 1 (Match of the Week)
Anderson - Cormack

November 1972

Wednesday 1 November 1972 – Stockport County 1 Norwich City 5 (League Cup 4th Round)

Saturday 4 November 1972 – Southampton 1 Norwich City 0 (Match of the Day)
McCarthy

7 November 1972: Richard Nixon re-elected as President of the United States



Wednesday 8 November 1972 – Norwich City 2 Leicester City 0 (Agg: 2-2 – Norwich win on penalties) (Texaco Cup Second Round Second Leg)

Saturday 11 November 1972 – Norwich City 0 Ipswich Town 0 (Match of the Week)

Saturday 18 November 1972 – Norwich City 2 West Bromwich Albion 0 (Match of the Week)
Stringer, Paddon
(Paddon's goal is at 3:00 in the video below)



Table
1. Liverpool - Played 18 Points 26
2. Arsenal - Played 19 Points 25
3. Leeds United - Played 18 Points 24
4. Tottenham Hotspur - Played 18 Points 22
5. Ipswich Town - Played 18 Points 21
6. Norwich City - Played 18 Points 21

Tuesday 21 November 1972 – Arsenal 0 Norwich City 3 (League Cup 5th Round)

Saturday 25 November 1972 – Birmingham City 4 Norwich City 1
Want, Pendrey, Hope, Hatton - Black

December 1972

1 December 1972 - Belinda Green from Australia wins Miss World



Saturday 2 December 1972 – Norwich City 0 Manchester United 2 (Match of the Week)
MacDougall, Storey-Moore
(Short clip at 1:35 in the below video)



Wednesday 6 December 1972 – Chelsea v Norwich City – postponed (League Cup Semi-Final, 1st Leg)

Saturday 9 December 1972 – Chelsea 3 Norwich City 1
Garner, Hutchinson (2) - Bone



Wednesday 13 December 1972 – Chelsea 0 Norwich City 2 (League Cup Semi-Final, 1st Leg)



Saturday 16 December 1972 – Coventry City 3 Norwich City 1
Alderson, Stein (2) - Howard

Saturday 23 December 1972 – Norwich City 1 Wolverhampton Wanderers 1 (Match of the Week)
Bone - Dougan

23 December: The Christmas Number One is ....



Tuesday 26 December 1972 – Arsenal 2 Norwich City 0
Ball, Radford

Saturday 30 December 1972 – Norwich City 1 Manchester City 1 (Match of the Week)
Paddon - Towers
(Paddon's goal is at 1:21 in the video below)


January 1973

1 January 1973 - Britain joins the European Economic Community (EEC)

Wednesday 3 January 1973 – Norwich City 1 Chelsea 0 (League Cup Semi-Final, 2nd Leg)



Saturday 6 January 1973 – Derby County 1 Norwich City 0 (Match of the Day)
Hinton

Saturday 13 January 1973 – Norwich City 1 Leeds United 1 (FA Cup Third Round) (Match of the Day)
(Leeds' goal is at 3:55 in the video)



Wednesday 17 January 1973 – Leeds United 1 Norwich City 1 (FA Cup Third Round replay)

Saturday 20 January 1973 – Norwich City 1 Leeds United 2 (Match of the Day)
Cross - Clarke, Jordan

22 January 1973 - George Foreman knocks out Joe Frazier to become the Heavyweight Champion of the World



Saturday 27 January 1973 – Sheffield United 2 Norwich City 0
Woodward, Dearden

Monday 29 January 1973 – Norwich City 0 Leeds United 5 (FA Cup Third Round second replay)

February 1973

Saturday 10 February 1973 – Norwich City 0 West Ham United 1
Robson



Saturday 24 February 1973 – Norwich City 0 Newcastle United 1
MacDonald

March 1973

1 March 1973 - Pink Floyd's album Dark Side Of The Moon is released




Saturday 3 March 1973 – Tottenham Hotspur 1 Norwich City 0 (League Cup Final)
Coates



Wednesday 7 March 1973 – Norwich City 1 Coventry City 1
Cross



Saturday 10 March 1973 – Tottenham Hotspur 3 Norwich City 0
Chivers (2), Pearce

Wednesday 14 March 1973 – Norwich City 2 Motherwell 0 (Texaco Cup Semi Final First Leg)



Saturday 17 March 1973 – Norwich City 1 Leicester 1 (Match of the Week)
Paddon

Wednesday 21 March 1973 – Motherwell 3 Norwich City 2 (Agg: 3-4) (Texaco Cup Semi Final Second Leg)

Saturday 24 March 1973 – Liverpool 3 Norwich City 1
Lawler, Hughes, Hall - Mellor

27 March 1973 - The Godfather wins Best Picture at the Oscars and Marlon Brando, wins Best Actor and declines the award (see video). The Best Director award goes to Bob Fosse for Cabaret, from which Liza Minnelli wins Best Actress.



Saturday 31 March 1973 – Norwich City 1 Birmingham City 2 (Match of the Week)
Stringer - Latchford (2)

31 March: Red Rum wins the Grand National



April 1973

Tuesday 3 April 1973 – Everton 2 Norwich City 2
Kendall, Belfitt, - Cross (2)

Saturday 7 April 1973 – Manchester United 1 Norwich City 0
Martin

Table:
18. Leicester City Played 37 Points 32
19. Manchester United Played 36 Points 31
20. Crystal Palace Played 36 Points 27
21. West Bromwich Albion Played 37 Points 26
22. Norwich City Played 37 Points 26

Saturday 14 April 1973 – Norwich City 1 Chelsea 0
Cross

Saturday 21 April 1973 – West Bromwich Albion 0 Norwich City 1 (ATV Star Soccer)
Cross




Monday 23 April 1973 – Wolverhampton Wanderers 3 Norwich City 0
Sunderland (2), Richards

Tuesday 24 April 1973 – Norwich City 2 Crystal Palace 1
Stringer, Suggett - Rogers

Saturday 28 April 1973 – Stoke City 2 Norwich City 0
Greenhoff, Ritchie


Final table:
18. Manchester United Played 42 Points 37
19. Coventry City Played 42 Points 35
20. Norwich City Played 42 Points 32
21. Crystal Palace Played 42 Points 30 (relegated)
22. West Bromwich Albion Played 42 Points 28 (relegated)



May 1973

Friday 4 May 1973 – Ipswich Town 2 Norwich City 1 (Texaco Cup Final First Leg)



May 5 1973 - Sunderland win the FA Cup beating Leeds United 1-0




Monday 7 May 1973 – Norwich City 1 Ipswich Town 2 (Agg: 2-4) (Texaco Cup Final Second Leg)